On a previous post, silverfox.lol/2023/07/1… I indicated what I don’t like about film photography. So it is time list what I do like about film photography.

  1. I like the science of film developing with the smell of chemicals in a darkroom.
  2. I like the magic of film developing when your image appears like an apparition after being immersed in those chemicals.
  3. I like the fact there are no storage cards, no cables, or complicated touch screen menus on your film camera.
  4. I like the manufacturer’s branding on film packs the same way I enjoyed the VHS, cassettes and album covers.
  5. I like the email notification that tells me “your prints are ready to view!”
  6. I like the way I feel when I breathlessly open up that envelope containing my prints for the big reveal.
  7. I like hearing the shutter click. I like feeling the tension in the spool when advancing to the next frame. 8. I like feeling the tension release when I’ve re-wound the spool to secure the roll.
  8. I like the way that each frame on the roll can have its own unique exposure or grain or grit.
  9. I like seeing the negative strip when held against the light. It is ethereal.
  10. I like having a physical, tactile piece of chemical paper in my hand that has preserved a memory.